August 30, 2025
Shane Lowry meets after receiving a two-shot penalty in the second round of the Open 2025

Shane Lowry meets after receiving a two-shot penalty in the second round of the Open 2025

After a review, Shane Lowry was received after his second round at the Open 2025.

The R&A found that the former Open Champion had earned a penalty after his ball moved before scored a shot on the 12th hole in Royal Portrush.

Advertising

Lowry had driven his tee into the rough and could see some fans asked if the ball moved slightly.

The R&A informed Lowry on the 15th hole, which he would have to sit down and check the video material with you after completing his round.

The result of the assessment of the SLO-Motion repeats was a second-stroke punishment for the Irish, which falls at level for the tournament.

Lowry had held a second round in a row of one-uner-Par after playing through a downpour on his back, and admitted that he knew nothing about the potential punishment until the officials spoke to him on the 15th.

Advertising

“Well, I didn’t know that something happened until the 15th Fairway went up, and then the rules of the rules came and told me that there was a way that the ball was moving to the 12th place for my second shot,” Lowry revealed after his round.

“I asked him how many fir sentences is that when it was, and he said two. Obviously I have the feeling that I am on the cut brand, which is not very nice. I have the feeling that I played on the way perfectly and then obviously waited to see her.

Shane Lowry has received a two-shot penalty after his ball moved in the 12th hole in the rough (IMAGEN images via Reuters Connect)

Shane Lowry has received a two-shot penalty after his ball moved in the 12th hole in the rough (IMAGEN images via Reuters Connect)

Shane Lowry has received a two-shot penalty after his ball moved in the 12th hole in the rough (IMAGEN images via Reuters Connect)

Advertising

“I was with the rules in the civil servant and not argue about my case, but I am disappointed that they no longer have a camera hookel. The one who was zoomed in slow motion – they try to tell me whether it is not moving from the naked eye if it did not move, it was not moving.

“I told them I was definitely looking down at the ball when I did this exercise swing and I saw that it didn’t move. I’m still not sure whether it was or not, but I had to take the penalty and I continue.

“It is obviously very disappointing. I felt that I had played very, very well today. And yes, it’s difficult to take. Look, I just have to dust myself and go out tomorrow and try it.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *